Jump to Navigation


Mediation is a process where couples negotiate an acceptable agreement with the aid of Grunyk & Associates, P.C. as a mediator. The agreement negotiated is legally binding.

The mediator is a neutral third party who assists in the negotiations; however, they do not make the decisions for you. It is our responsibility as the mediator to structure the sessions so that the couple can successfully negotiate a divorce agreement. We encourage couples to put the past behind you and focus on the facts at the present moment.

There are different phases that the mediation process goes through. Initially, the couple will meet with the mediator and discuss the background information and the facts of their particular situation. The couple will provide the mediator with information pertinent to their situation such as real estate owned, retirement fund, debts, and inventory of jointly owned assets including bank accounts, investment accounts, automobiles etc. If the couple can't agree, Grunyk & Associates, P.C., as the mediator, helps them come up with the options available to resolve the disagreements.

When all the issues have been agreed upon, Grunyk & Associates, P.C. will draft a letter to the parties memorializing the agreement reached.

If you are going through the mediation process with another mediator, it is important to hire an attorney to consult with during the process.

Contact an Attorney Today

To speak with one of our experienced lawyers about mediation, email our office today.

Conveniently located in the historic 5th Avenue Building in downtown Naperville
Evening and weekend appointments available
Visa, MasterCard and Discover accepted

5th Avenue Station
200 E. 5th Avenue, Suite 125
Naperville, IL 60563
Phone: 630-428-3300
Fax: (630) 428-3313

Map and Directions

Contact Us

Representing clients throughout Illinois including Aurora, Batavia, Bolingbrook, Chicago, Clarendon Hills, Darien, Downers Grove, Geneva, Hinsdale, Homer Glen, Joliet, La Grange , Lemont, Lisle, Lockport, Naperville, Oswego, Plainfield, Romeoville, St. Charles, Warrenville, Westmont, Wheaton, Woodridge, Yorkville and other cities in DuPage County, Will County, Kendall County, Kane County and Cook County.